convert video podcasts to audio only

Some podcasts come in video format only (like Flash Game University), but my lovely old Nano is not video capable. Sooooo, I’m going to try this out very soon:

http://www.legalandrew.com/2007/03/10/how-to-convert-a-video-podcast-to-audio-only/

Update 11 august 2008:

Looks like the suggested software, MediaCoder, is mainly available for Windows. By “mainly” I mean that you can jump through a dozen hoops to get it working on OS X, but why bother? Instead I’m off to try this out with VMWare and Windows XP, see how it goes…

Media Coder

Media Coder

Yes! This works just as in the instructions from andrew, nice. Only one file refused to be converted, no idea why. But watching one video while sitting at the computer won’t kill me. And I have a bunch of audio that I can listen to on my ipod. Excellent. 🙂

This entry was posted in tech notes and tools and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.