convert wmv to m4a, mp3, etc

This one is so satisfyingly easy I have to jot it down. To quickly and simply convert wmv video get EasyWMA. Ten bucks, it’s worth it, just get it.

I’m reading a book, Efficiency in Learning by Clark, Nguyen and Sweller (highly recommend it) that comes with a CD. Among other goodies, the CD has video interviews with one of the authors, John Sweller. Since I don’t read books at my desk and would prefer to just listen to the interviews on my ipod anyway, I went looking for a converter. (The video files are wmv format.)

I tried Handbrake, but it didn’t want to recognize the wmv files and the latest version is for non-ludites who’ve updated their mac to leopard. Alas.

Fortunately I came upon a forum post recommending EasyWMA. The demo version lets you try it out, but will only give you 15 seconds at 128 bits. The demo is very convincing: conversion is fast and as simple as dropping the wmv file onto the app. EasyWMA is busy converting 37 files as I type. It will be done before I am. Yup, there they are. Lovely.

Off to add them into my iTunes library and I’m all set for the train ride tomorrow. Happy Ending. 🙂

This entry was posted in tech notes and tools and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.